Tuesday, August 31, 2010

The Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra is the centre from which feelings of love emanate. It is also associated with other virtuous emotions, such as joy, happiness, honesty, respect, compassion, understanding, and generosity, and with loving oneself in a sincere, non-egotistic way. This is also the chakra through which we connect with others whom we love or have affection towards. Once forged, these links are very hard to break, which is why people suffer so much through the break-up of a relationship or the loss of a loved one

The color pink clearly correspond to the rose light of divine love, while the green signifies the lower or gross emotional body functioning of the heart centre, focusing on self, security, and attachment to physical and emotional possessions, the white signifies spiritual purity.

The heart chakra is very important in spiritual healing, since all energy is metabolized through the chakras travels up the body and into the heart chakra, before moving out through the body for healing.

When the heart centre has been fully opened, it becomes the channel for Universal Love; what the Buddhists call Mahakaruna or "the Great Compassion", and esoteric Christians and Theosophists the "Christ Consciousness". Once opened, the Higher Self or Immortal Divine Soul is able to work through this centre. This is probably why in so many cultures the heart is said to be the seat of the soul.

Sanskrit Name: anahata
Color: green, pink
Key Word: love
Soul Lesson: forgiveness, unconditional love, letting go, trust, compassion
Element: Air
Number: 3
Sense: Touch
Gemstones: malachite, emerald, aventurine, rose quartz, kunzite.
Essential Oils: rose, jasmine, ylang ylang, eucalyptus, peppermint and Rosewood
Physical: heart, circulatory system, blood, lungs, rib cage, diaphragm, thymus, breasts, esophagus, shoulders, arms, hands
Bach Flower Essences: Holly, Poppy, California Wild Rose
Shape: Octahedron
Sound: Yam
Note: F, F#
Astrological sign: Libra, Taurus
Petals: 12

Harmonious Function:
• warmth, sincerity and happiness
• strong connection to all of life
• compassion and willingness to help
• unity
• peaceful and balanced
• loving
• anti-social and withdrawn
• intolerant
• critical and judgmental
• loneliness and isolation
• feel rejected
• lack of empathy
• co-dependency
• demanding
• jealousy
• clinging
• over-sacrificing
• I am an open channel for divine love
• I open my heart and share it with others
• I love who I am

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Solar Plexus Meditation Video

the Solar Plexus

The Solar Plexus Chakra, or Manipura, is associated with the color yellow. This is the area which defines our "self-esteem". The personality that develops during puberty is housed in this chakra....otherwise known as the "EGO". Anyone experiencing dysfunction of the third chakra is having difficulty obtaining or maintaining his/her own "personal power". This intuitive chakra is where we get our "gut instincts" that signal us to do or not to do something. Strong self-esteem is a required for developing intuitive skills.

Color: yellow
Key Word: self
Soul Lesson: acceptance of your place in the life stream. (self-love)
Element: fire
Number: 3
Sense: sight
Gemstones: gold, citrine, amber, golden topaz agate, chrysoprase,
lithium, smokey quartz, turquoise, malachite, tigers eye, yellow calcite.
Essential Oils: cassia, peppermint, lemongrass, lemon balm, juniper, amber.
Physical: upper abdomen, umbilicus to rib cage, liver, gallbladder, middle spine, spleen, kidney, adrenals, small intestines, stomach
Bach Flower Essences: Clematis, Honeysuckle, Wild Rose,
Olive, White Chestnut, Mustard, Chestnut Bud.
Shape: circle
Note: D
Mantra: ram or aum.
Angel: Michael
Astrological sign: Scorpio & Aries
Petals: 10 .

Open and Balanced: You have a deeply fulfilling emotional life [Brennan, p.75]. You take an expansive, outgoing, and sociable attitude to the world. You are able to feel the sweetness of life, and have a sense of belonging and fitting in perfectly in the universe. You feel daring and confident and able to take. This is the chakra associated with the leader, the explorer, and the charismatic extrovertive individual.

Overactive: You are ruled by ambition, pride, fear, love of fame, desires and passions, and likes and dislikes, you are overly concerned with their place in life and their relation with others; you may crave the company of other people and be unable to cope or amuse yourself on your own.

Malfunctioning: You are easily overwhelmed by emotions or caught up by astral forces, and may suffer from delusions and schizophrenia.

Blocked: You tend to block your emotions, or feel only superficial emotions, you may feel only negative emotions such as anxiety, panic, or worry. You may be closed to spiritual energies and unable to experience the sweetness and joy of life. You have a fear of change and are incapable of opening to greater things in life.